RFID/NFC with RC522 - someone try it?

Hello world,
I have a small project of Lap timer for my slot car track, and the GB Meta will be a great terminal to control it.

Is someone already try to use an RC522 module with a dev backpack ?

My goal is to “stick” a tag under each car and keep, on my meta an application who store and compare times.

Hi, geed,

Interesting project! I have no experience interfacing Arduino boards with third-party components, so I couldn’t help you directly. On the other hand, I found a tutorial about the RC522 which seems to me quite complete. The experiment is conducted on an Arduino Uno board, but I guess that the transposition to the GB META (which is an Arduino Zero) should not be too complicated (by adapting the connections on the input-output pins). Take a look at this project:

Maybe also this video:

Or this one:

I hope this will help you…

1 Like

Thanks !
This module is very interesting for a very low price.

But each time i try to use I2C or SPI with my meta nothing work correctly …

Yes, good project. You can have a look on these too: https://www.gotronic.fr/pj2-sbc-rfid-rc522-fr-1439.pdf or http://www.les-electroniciens.com/videos/arduino-ep14-comment-utiliser-le-module-rfid-rc522 but when you’ll start, skip the SPI include and init as it’s already done with your META. Just try with the others parts of the code.

Keep us informed :wink: I could have one of this module in my stuff but it’s should be in the cartons so i’ll not test it now…

Indeed, I can’t find anything on the joint use of RC522 and SAMD21… it’s really a shame
And when examining the code repository of the MFRC522 library, the only examples given are the following cards:

* Typical pin layout used:
* -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
*             MFRC522      Arduino       Arduino   Arduino    Arduino          Arduino
*             Reader/PCD   Uno/101       Mega      Nano v3    Leonardo/Micro   Pro Micro